Home Uncategorized 2021/2022 GRASAG-Legon Executives Sworn-In

2021/2022 GRASAG-Legon Executives Sworn-In


The executives elected to steer the affairs of Graduate Students in Legon for the 2021/2022 academic year have been sworn into office as required by Article 29(2) of the GRASAG-LEGON Constitution.

The executives were sworn into office at the last Virtual senate sitting held on Friday, 27th November 2021.

The swearing-in was administered by the Deputy Chairperson of the Judicial Committee after the House had adopted the Financial and Audit Reports for the 2020/2021 academic year.

The outgoing Chairperson of the Interim Management Committee (IMC), Mr. Yaw Adofo Kwakye expressed gratitude to the House for their support in making his administration a success.

Special mention was made of the Chairperson of the House, Rt. Hon. Nicodemus Derry, Hon. Kems and Hon. Bright for their exceptional commitment and dedication to the performance of their duties.

The Chair of the IMC expressed his eternal gratitude to the Graduate Students of Legon for the opportunity given him to lead the noble Association.

The President of GRASAG-LEGON, Miss Christiana Adu, addressing the House shortly after being sworn into office, thanked the IMC for the exceptional work done in steering the affairs of Graduate Students in times of the Pandemic.

The Association had to cause the amendment of the Constitution in 2020 to include clauses of force majeure that made room for the setting up of an Interim Management Committee in times when the organization of elections was impossible as was in the 2019/2020 academic year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Miss Christiana Adu proceeding with her address promised to work with her team to ensure the welfare and concerns of Graduate Students are addressed meticulously and timely.

Her team comprises Mr. Dennis Frimpong as Vice President, Mrs. Betty Danquah as General Secretary, Mr. Bright Quarshie as Treasurer, Mr. Abdul Hakeem Mohammed as Organising Secretary, and Miss Nancy Agbemenya as Women’s Commissioner.

With the support of her team, Miss Christiana Adu expressed her resolve to “dialogue with Graduate Students on all the campuses; Legon, Atomic, and Korle-Bu in pursuit of the interest of GRASAG-LEGON”.

The President took the opportunity to once again congratulate the new Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Nana Aba Appiah Amfo, “on her trailblazing feat, and promise to work with her in lifting high the flag of the University of Ghana, the nation’s pride”.

The executives were urged by the House to remain true to their stewardship and to prioritise the interest of graduate students at all times.

Share Your Thoughts